How we are governed

E-ACT is a charitable company limited by guarantee. Our primary regulator is the Department for Education, and our charitable objects are set out in our Articles of Association.

For further information on how E-ACT is funded by the Education and Skills Funding Agency, please refer to our Master Funding Agreement which contains the supplemental funding agreements for our academies.

Master Funding Agreement

Our trustees

Our Board of Trustees are the guardians of E-ACT’s purpose and are ultimately accountable for the organisation.

Led by the Chair of the Board of Trustees Michael Wemms, the board is comprised of 12 independent volunteers chosen for their expertise and experience gained in a diverse range of industries in both the private and public sectors. E-ACT’s board also includes the chief executive who is an ex officio trustee.

Click here for further information on our trustees including the member and trustee register for relevant business and pecuniary interests.

See E-ACT’s annual report for trustee attendance records at board and committee meetings over the last academic year.

E-ACT Annual Report

Meet our Executive Leadership Team

The Board of Trustees is supported by the Executive Leadership Team.

Led by Chief Executive David Moran, the Executive Leadership Team is responsible for overseeing the implementation and delivery of organisational strategy as set by the Board of Trustees.

Click here for further information about our Executive Leadership Team.

Five regions, one E-ACT

E-ACT supports its 29 academies through four regional clusters in Midlands & Daventry, London & Bucks, North, and South West.

Each of these is led by a Regional Education Director (RED) and a Regional Operations Director (ROD) and is supported by a team of system experts in areas like safeguarding.

Our REDs and RODs work closely with their academies and meet academy leadership formally through six weekly Raising Achievement Boards. In turn, the Executive Leadership Team meets with REDs and RODs through six weekly formal Regional Performance Boards.

Our regional team

Joanna HallRegional Education
Tara CollinsDeputy Regional Educational
Linda GregoryRegional Operations Director
Simon BentleyDeputy Regional Operations
David HigginsRegional Safeguarding System
Andrea PackerRegional Attendance System
Paul RobinsonHead of Data and
Alison QuinnRegional SEND System
Kate WhittleseyRegional SEND System
Zar SuttonRegional
Rashmi BassiRegional

Our Ambassadorial Advisory Group

Our Ambassadorial Advisory Group (AAG) is made up of people who share a great passion for our academy.

Led by a chairperson, AAGs meet once per term and will have at least two parent ambassadors elected to the group. They work closely with headteachers, regional and national staff as well as our trustees, and focus on the four Cs of communication, celebration, complaints and community.

Please note that the Board of Trustees is the governing body for E-ACT and all E-ACT academies. The AAG is an advisory body.

More information

Visit the trust’s website for further information on:

  • Trustees’ business and financial interests.
  • Articles of Association.
  • Master Funding Agreement and Supplemental Agreements.
  • E-ACT’s Scheme of Delegation, which shows all delegated authorities from the Board of Trustees.
  • E-ACT’s detailed governance overview, showing how we meet all of our statutory and regulatory requirements under our regionalised governance model.

All of these documents can be found by clicking here.

We recommend
Our Ambassadorial Advisory Group
Meet the Heartlands team
Ofsted reports